Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover * Giveaway*

Title: Losing Hope

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Books

Date of Publication: July 8, 2013

About Losing Hope:

Sometimes in life, in order to move forward you must face the past…

#1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover held readers spellbound with her novel Hopeless, the story of what happened when a troubled girl named Sky encountered a long-lost childhood friend, Dean Holder. With Holder’s help, Sky uncovered shocking family secrets and came to terms with memories and emotions that had left deep scars.

Hopeless was Sky’s story. Now, in Losing Hope, we finally learn the truth about Dean Holder.

Haunted by the little girl he couldn’t save from imminent danger, Holder’s life has been overshadowed by feelings of guilt and remorse. He has never stopped searching for her, believing that finding her would bring him the peace he needs to move on. However, Holder could not have anticipated that he would be faced with even greater pain the moment they reconnect.

In Losing Hope, Holder reveals the way in which the events of Sky’s youth affected him and his family, leading him to seek his own redemption in the act of saving her. But it is only in loving Sky that he can finally begin to heal himself.

***

By Contributing Reviewer: Kat Summers

After reading Hopeless by Collen Hoover, I was extraordinarily excited to hear that another book would be written about Sky and Holder. However, that this new book would be the same story from Holder’s point of view made me nervous. Such books have been written successfully before, but more often than not, it feels like you are experiencing déjà vu when you read it. As it turned out, I had nothing to worry about. Losing Hope was absolutely amazing.

The beginning of Losing Hope is set before the beginning of Hopeless, and new information comes to light right from the get go. As the story develops, the reader is not only re-introduced to episodes from Hopeless but also given a number of new episodes that Sky either didn’t know about or didn’t feel were of importance. The reader’s understanding of Holder as a character and a person deepens throughout the story, and the more you read, the more you fall in love with him. Sky as a person does not develop much from Hopeless, but more information about her background surfaces. This means that even though Hopeless can be treated as a standalone novel, you have to read Losing Hope to get the whole story.

Colleen Hoover uses her wonderfully descriptive language to paint an emotionally charged story that rips your heart out. The way she builds the story up is exciting, and she knows how to touch people, not only on the surface, but deep in their hearts and soul. I proudly admit that I teared up a number of times while reading, and even thinking about the story afterwards makes me emotional. Only few stories touch me this deeply.

All I have to say before I leave you to go and enjoy this wonderful book is that I do believe that Losing Hope can be read as a standalone novel, but if you want to get the full effect of the surprises and the emotional turmoil I’d suggest reading Hopeless first.

Mia’s two cents:

I had a few reservation about reading Losing Hope, myself. I was moved beyond tears over Sky’s story in Hopeless. I already adored Holder for the most part but it was Sky’s path that pulled you in and Colleen Hoover’s  brilliant  way of writing that kept me turning the pages all the way to the end. So, I wasn’t sure I want to know Holder’s point of view, but Losing Hope isn’t a retake of the same story. Its more than Holder’s heartfelt  journey before he came face to face with Sky at that supermarket.  I didn’t think a story could move me more then Sky’s in Hopeless, but Colleen Hoover’s writing makes you feel every emotion in every scene. I barely noticed the time that elapsed as a read Losing Hope. My emotions were all over the place and I love when I book grabs you by the collar and takes you through its pages. Remarkable writing by the author! A must read! I agree whole heartedly, 5 Stars!

5Star

 Worth the read! – 5 Stars!

BUY Links: Amazon | Goodreads | B&N | iBook 

*Wine with your read: Honestly I’d recommend Tequila, because I definitely needed something stronger than wine while reading. I needed to get drunk. I needed shots! 

***

GIVEAWAY

– win an ebook copy of Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

CLICK here> a Rafflecopter giveaway

9781476743554_p0_v2_s260x420


Synopsis:

That’s what Sky Davis realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before.  He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of their first encounter.
Sky struggles to keep him at a distance, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. Unable to deny their intense connection, Sky finally caves to his unwavering pursuit.  However, she soon discovers that Holder’s erratic and unpredictable behavior comes with a very good explanation.  One that will ultimately test her faith in the hopeless boy she’s fallen in love with.
Recommended for ages 17+ due to language and sexual situations.

 Buy Links: Amazon | iBook | B&N | Goodreads

*Thank you Atria Books for the opportunity to receive and ARC of Losing Hopeless.

o cents:

