Some Sweet Reading! Blog Tour & Interview with Author, Susan Bishop Crispell: Love and Cupcakes

lovecupcakescover

An Adult Romance

By Susan Bishop Crispell

Released January 17, 2014

Publisher: Swoon Romance 

Amazon | Barnes and Noble

 Synopsis:

For Jaclyn “Jack” Pace, sensing what sweets people crave is as easy as breathing. But it’s not enough to keep her cupcake bakery in the black.

So, when her estranged sister Harper comes back to town with an affinity for making art out of icing—and a past full of secrets—she reluctantly gives Harper a job and a place to crash.

As their sisterly relationship begins to thaw, the one with her business partner Graham starts to heat up. Given the legend that says Hollingsworth men will recognize their soul mates at first touch, Jack’s always been resigned to the fact that she’s not his.

But when she starts sensing desires that are decidedly not dessert-related, it’ll take all of her magic to set things right with customers and make her own desires come true.

Love and Cupcakes is a delightfully sweet and sensual romance from Susan Bishop Crispell.

*Interview with the Author* 

Q: Do you have a routine that you use to get into the right frame of mind to write?

Susan: I use music to get in the right mood to write. Each book I write has a specific playlist of songs that evoke the feelings I’m looking for with the main characters, and sometimes the interactions with secondary characters. Both Jack and Graham have theme songs that, to me, get to the heart of who they both are. For Jack, it’s Spun Sugar by Beth Waters and for Graham, it’s Living in a Dream by Finger Eleven.

Q: Where did you get the idea or inspiration for LOVE AND CUPCAKES?

 

Susan: The idea to write about a cupcakery came from the cookbook Hello, Cupcake that my sister gave me for Christmas. It’s got these really cool decorating ideas that made me wish I was that good with baking. The characters and story evolved from my love of TV show creator Bryan Fuller (Pushing Daisies, Wonderfalls, and Dead Like Me) and author Sarah Addison Allen. They do magical realism so perfectly, I knew I wanted to create a world in the same vein.

Q: What was the most difficult aspect when writing LOVE AND CUPCAKES?

 

Susan: Making the stakes high enough to keep a reader interested. This plagued me while I was revising and submitting to agents. The stakes were mainly emotional for both Jack and Graham in earlier versions. I had to dig deeper into who they were and what they wanted to understand how to add in problems and roadblocks that caused more than just emotional strife.

Q: What was the most fun aspect?

 

Susan: Ooh, I’m a sucker for romance, so for me it was so fun to take two characters that desperately wanted to be together and help them find a way to make it happen despite their hangups. I also really enjoyed developing the magical elements. For me, the magic opened up so many possibilities for how the characters could relate to each other and added a layer of whimsy that just makes my heart happy.

Q: What do you like to do when you are not writing?

 

Susan: Like most writers, I read a lot. I get up half an hour early so I can read before work, and when I’m into a book, the rest of the world (including my very patient husband) kind of disappears. I also have a thing for falling for TV shows that are brilliant, and therefore get cancelled way before their time. I’m a little obsessive about fictional characters, so anything that lets me live with them for a while is what I want to be doing.

Q: Any future writing news you would like to share?

 

Susan: I am actively looking for an agent for my two completed novels (one adult magical realism about a girl who can make wishes come true and accidentally erases her brother from existence, and one YA magical realism about an imaginary friend who must give up her dreams of having a normal life or risk breaking the Imaginary world beyond repair). And I’m currently working on a YA paranormal romance about a teenage grim reaper who falls for the brother of a girl she reaps. I will be working on this novel in a YA workshop/retreat with Nova Ren Suma at the Djerassi Resident Artists Program in February 2014.

 

 

About the Author

sbishipcrispellauthorSusan Bishop Crispell is not one of those writers who’s been scribbling down stories since she could hold a pencil. She didn’t read constantly growing up (blasphemy!), and she can still be found in public without a book tucked into her purse (again with the blasphemy!).

She is, however, the kind of writer who lives for the imaginative spark that introduces her to a new character or story idea that pushes her to turn everyday life into something magical.

She lives and writes near Wilmington, NC.

Author social media links:

Publisher | Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Tumblr

 

Giveaway: 

(1) $10 USD Gift Card to Amazon or Barnes and Noble – International

(5) eBook copies of Love and Cupcakes (mobi and epub) – International

Enter Here–> a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

lovecupcakesbanner

Follow more stops in the Blog Tour Here!

AToMRTours_large-1

2 thoughts on “Some Sweet Reading! Blog Tour & Interview with Author, Susan Bishop Crispell: Love and Cupcakes

  1. This book sounds really cool and refreshing. I love the concept of matching people with their sweet cravings, especially for someone who has a sweet tooth and is as indecisive as me. 🙂

Comments are closed.